38 factoids and 5 infographs from the jungle of statistics published in newspapers that put Narendra Modi’s stupendous 2019 victory in perspective

Screenshot 2019-05-24 18.30.51

Many English newspapers have produced a dizzying array of information and graphics following the election of Narendra Modi, with The Times of India (above) standing out for homework, imagination and display.

But it’s easy to get lost in the maze.

Here are a few stats which stand out from ToI, Hindustan Times, The Indian Express, Mint, and The Telegraph.


Screenshot 2019-05-24 15.40.55

BJP has been the single latest party in five of the last seven general elections.

While BJP got 21 seats more than in 2014, its allies in the NDA got 16 seats fewer than five years ago.

BJP won every seat in 10 states and union territories

Congress did not bag a single seat in 20 states and union territories. In only one state (Kerala) was its tally in double digits.

BJP won 32, 36, 62, 45, 39, 44, 33 seats respectively in the seven phases.

BJP retained 82 per cent of the 282 seats it held in 2014, compared to 37.2 per cent for the Congress’s 44.

BJP’s strike rate has climbed from 1 per cent in 1984, when it won two seats, to 69.3% in 2019. Congress strike rate has dipped from 76% in 1951, when it won 364 seats, to 12%.

Screenshot 2019-05-24 16.53.18

At its peak in 1984, Congress won 83 out of 85 seats in UP. In 2019, it has one seat. In Bihar, it had 48 in 1984; it has one today. In Andhra Pradesh, it had 41 in 1980; it has two.

58 seats flipped to BJP; 38 seats to Congress. Of the metro cities, only Chennai flipped entirely to DMK from AIADMK.

86 per cent of candidates (6,896 of 8,206) lost their deposits, BSP the most with 251.

BJP hasn’t won a Lok Sabha seat from Kerala for 68 years. It took 47 years to open its account in Tamil Nadu.

DMK won 100 per cent of the seats it contested (23), as did National Conference (3) and Lok Janshakti Party (6).

Of the 60.37 crore polled votes, BJP bagged 22.6 crore, up from 17.1 crore.

In 224 constituencies in 17 states, BJP vote share was above the 50 per cent mark. This figure was 136 in 2014.

The average value of the total assets of MPs in the 17th Lok Sabha is Rs 21 crore.

Screenshot 2019-05-24 17.55.18

BJP had just seven Muslims among of its 437 candidates; Congress had 32 among 464.

There will be 27 Muslim MPs in the 17th Lok Sabha, up from 23, but none from BJP. Muslims, who form 14% of India’s population. had their highest representation in 1980 when they had 49 MPs.

There are 78 women (14%) in the new Lok Sabha, up from 62 in 2014.

In at least a dozen seats in Uttar Pradesh, Congress cut into the votes of the SP-BSP candidates of the ‘Mahagatbandhan’.

In 2014, BJP won 38 of its 71 seats in UP thanks to spoilers (third candidates who polled votes less than the margin between winner and runner-up). In 2019, only 17 seats have been aided by spoilers.

The Mahagathbandhan won only 15 seats and did well only in those seats where the combined strengths of the Jatavs (BSP), Yadavs (Samajwadis) and Muslims was well over 50 per cent.

369 candidates won by a margin of more than one lakh votes.

15 out of 16 winners with more than 5 lakh margin are from BJP. This figure was six for BJP in 2014.

Three of the top five victory margins for BJP candidates came in from Gujarat (Navsari, Surat and Vadodara). The other two were in Haryana: Karnal and Faridabad.

The highest victory margin was 689,666. The lowest margin was in Machlishahr in UP: 181.

BJP’s highest vote share was in Surat (74.5%); the lowest was in Lakshadweep (0.3%).

Congress’s highest voteshare was in Wayanad (64.7%); the lowest in Ongole (0.6%).

Screenshot 2019-05-24 17.56.10

Of 84 seats reserved for Scheduled Castes, BJP bagged 46, compared to six for the Congress. Of the 47 seats reserved for Scheduled Tribes, BJP bagged 31, compared to three for Congress.

Of 52 constituencies with a Muslim population of over 30%, BJP bagged 16 (down from 20 in 2014), compared to Congress 9 (9 in 2014).

BJP was convincingly beaten in six western UP constituencies where Muslims are 35 per cent of the population. The party had won these seats in 2014.

Congress lost 6.3 lakh votes in just six months after coming to power in Chhattisgardh six months ago. BJP voteshare climbed 18 per cent from 33%.

With a 40 per cent vote share in Bengal, BJP has the support of over 2.17 crore people. Trinamool Congress has only 17 lakh more supporters than BJP, and is ahead in 150-plus assembly segments compared to BJP’s 130.

In 11 of Kerala’s 20 seats, Congress-led UDF defeat the LDF by margins of over 100,000 votes, a rare phenomenon in a state where the margins are usually in the 10,000-20,000 range.

BJP did well in 71 of the 115 constituencies in districts identified by Niti Aayog as “aspirational”

There were a presumed 22 crore beneficiaries—6 crore women, 20% in South—of at least one scheme of the Narendra Modi government whom BJP reached through 161 call centres and 15,600 callers.

Screenshot 2019-05-24 17.00.55

BJP had 50,000 WhatsApp groups in Bengal.

Between January 1 and May 23, there were 3.15 million tweets a day on the elections, a 360% jump over 2014. In all, there were 396 million tweets.

First five years of Modi government saw the market capitalisation of stocks on the Bombay stock exchange rise by 75% leaving investors richer by Rs 64.24 lakh crore.